ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Draw with a pencil

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jesse DeggerDraw with a pencil
by on Mar 14, 2011 at 2:45:52 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm not a total noob to video editing but I'm to creating animations. What I want is to create for school a simple animation like this:

In the video they use a pink pencil animation. They draw on the white background with simple photos.

My question, what is the best way to this? I think it is really simple but I can not do it myself. Googling didn't help me so far, I always come at the pencil-tool, I don't think I need that.

Please note I'm dutch so my English isn't the best you ever heard, I guess.

Could someone help me out with this?

Kind regards,
Jesse

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: Draw with a pencil
by on Mar 14, 2011 at 4:33:28 pm

there are a few ways to something like this, the way i'd probably do it is with a mask and the stroke effect.

create a new solid and use the pen tool to create a shape on it (make sure the solid layer is selected when you start to use the pen tool).

then add the stroke effect.

by default the effect should see the mask path and select it from the path dropdown in the effect. if you want it to use multiple paths, click the 'all masks' option. for 'paint style' set it to 'on transparent'. to animate the stroke, animate the end value from 0 to 100. then just set the other stroke properties as needed.

Kevin Camp
Senior Designer
KCPQ, KMYQ & KRCW

Return to posts index

Jesse DeggerRe: Draw with a pencil
by on Mar 14, 2011 at 4:41:28 pm

Thanks for your response.

I created the solid object and drew my line. I also found the option of the end value, but how do I animate it?

I'm now struggling with key-frames or something but when I change the value I change it for the whole object (at the beginning and the ending).

Thanks again for the fast response!!