ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Layers question

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Roy GuinnLayers question
by on Mar 7, 2011 at 4:58:23 pm

Sorry for the noob question, I just started learning AE. I have several animated clips that I am trying to composite. A base layer, and several foreground characters filmed against a green screen. The base layer was filmed with a short camera pan at the begining. My problem is that when I lay the foreground characters in they are linked to the base layer and pan with it. I want the foreground to remain stationary, while the base layer pans over them. Thanks for any help.

Return to posts index

Subhash NaveenRe: Layers question
by on Mar 7, 2011 at 6:04:32 pm

Hi Roy

Was the camera pan done using After Effects Camera or the footage was shot with the pan? Ideally as they are separate layers, the foreground elements should not be moving with the pan on the back ground layer. can you please post a quick small render?

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Layers question
by on Mar 7, 2011 at 10:56:03 pm

Are you saying that in your background footage the camera was moving when it was filmed and you want your greenscreened elements to match the movement of the background so that it appears they're actually attached to the ground? (What I think you meant) Or are you saying that your foreground characters are linked/parented to your background layer? (which is what you actually said)

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Roy GuinnRe: Layers question
by on Mar 7, 2011 at 11:12:24 pm