ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Jitter Problem

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John BundyJitter Problem
by on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:05:20 pm

Hey guys, I'm new to the cow, but I need some help. I'm a youth minister whos been using premiere for the past 9 years. I make a weekly news video for our group, and have been using the color keyer in premeier. I recently learned how to use an after effects comp in premiere and am much happier with key light, but when I render it the video jumps, and jitters in the begining, and then fixes itself twards the middle. Any ideas as how to fix it? here's a link so that you can actually see the video.

look forward to hearing your advice.
J.E. Bundy

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Jitter Problem
by on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:24:43 pm

Nice-looking key! Well, if you're a longtime Premiere editor, and it's a church, chances are good that you're not on the bleeding edge of software purchases.

Since you don't say which version of AE you're using or the footage you shoot, let's assume for a moment that you shoot HDV and you're NOT using AE 10 (aka CS5). If so, the following still applies:

Dave's Stock Answer #1:

If the footage you imported into AE is any kind of the following -- footage in an HDV acquisition codec, MPEG1, MPEG2, AVCHD, mp4, mts, m2t, H.261 or H.264 -- you need to convert it to a different codec.

These kinds of footage use temporal, or interframe compression. They have keyframes at regular intervals, containing complete frame information. However, the frames in between do NOT have complete information. Interframe codecs toss out duplicated information.

In order to maintain peak rendering efficiency, AE needs complete information for each and every frame. But because these kinds of footage contain only partial information, AE freaks out, resulting in a wide variety of problems.