ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

zoom and match overlay

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sean Suttonzoom and match overlay
by on Jan 31, 2011 at 7:17:48 pm

This is, I think, a fairly basic problem I'm having but since I'm pretty new to AE I don't know the technical terms I need to google for the answer properly!

Anyway, I have a CU shot of a laptop screen which is static. Then the cam zooms out and we see that the laptop is on a desk.

Fair enough. In the CU there was a bit of camera shake so I stabilised that with tracking.

The laptop screen is blank so I added a layer with an image of some text on it (a png file). Now, when the camera is static this looks fine, but during the zoom phase obviously I have to change the size of the image/text layer. I've tried doing this manually by making loads of keypoints and adjusting the size of the image/text layer, but this seems very cumbersome and I figure there must be a simpler way. Maybe matching the image/text layer to points on the laptop or something?

If someone can point me to a tutorial or give me a hint it would be much appreciated! :)

Return to posts index

Joey ForemanRe: zoom and match overlay
by on Jan 31, 2011 at 8:41:06 pm

There is an easier way - Motion Tracking.
Are you running CS4 or CS5? Then learn how to use Mocha. It's designed specifically for this type of work.

Here is a good tutorial to get you up to speed.

Joey Foreman
Editor/Compositor/VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Jason MettlerRe: zoom and match overlay
by on Feb 2, 2011 at 6:16:55 pm