ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Shining Lights Behind A Door

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrew Tai
Shining Lights Behind A Door
on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:20:38 pm

I'm relatively new to After Effects, having just read and followed a few tutorials to do simple particle stuff. But I have been searching around to see if there were any tutorials but I couldn't seem to find any. I have no idea how to do what I want to do and I hope someone here could shed some light on it or perhaps provide me with a few links to tutorials which I could follow.

What I want to do is to have a Black Comp, then the outline of a door is drawn clockwise from the top, then right and then bottom side of the door. Then the door will slowly open out from right to left along the side that is not lighted up. As the door opens, I want shining rays of white/blueish light to shine through the opening and eventually envelop the whole open area. Then the camera zooms into the white light.

Out of all that I have described there, I only know how to do the camera zooming. How can I carry out the rest?

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
Re: Shining Lights Behind A Door
on Jan 25, 2011 at 3:54:36 pm

Black layers for your wall and door over a white layer. Then apply CC Lightburst on an adjustment layer. Then something like Tint, CC Toner, or Colorama to colorize the light burst. (If you have Trapcode's Shine, you can avoid CC Lightburst and colorizing it and just do everything with Shine.)

As for drawing the door. Make a new layer, draw a mask in the shape you want and apply Stroke.

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Andrew Tai
on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:50:03 am