ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Learning AE Task-Specifically

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lori Savitch
Learning AE Task-Specifically
on Jan 6, 2011 at 12:29:35 am

Hi Everyone. I'm new here. I hope this question is in the right place.

I've been a broadcast professional for many years. I'm a good editor. I've always had a "graphics person" to provide whatever motion graphics/animation I needed. But now I'm in a position where I really must learn to do this myself. I'm excited -- and a little overwhelmed.

I am well aware that AE comes with a steep learning curve, and I must devote time to mastering the effects I need to do my job well. I just don't have the time to learn much beyond what I need to do my job.

So here's my question: How can I learn what I need to learn as efficiently as possible?

I plan to start with Photoshop: a 9-hour seminar supplemented with online tutorials. Then, I'll take a basic AE class. But after all that -- I really need to learn to do some specific effects. For instance:

* Animated Lower Thirds

* Cool-looking, animated "lists" to illustrate copy such as "the symptoms of the flu are chills, fever and body aches" using video and stills.

* A few green screen techniques

* Plug-ins. How to work with them -- where to find them -- do I even need them????

I do video production for a hospital marketing department. My projects are more "news" oriented (health stories for VNRs and the web) but I also do training videos and commercials.

Sooo ... what's your best advice?? Thank you all so much in advance for your feedback.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Learning AE Task-Specifically
on Jan 6, 2011 at 4:33:27 pm

[Lori Savitch] "I am well aware that AE comes with a steep learning curve, and I must devote time to mastering the effects I need to do my job well. I just don't have the time to learn much beyond what I need to do my job."