ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

After Effects setup

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paweł SłokAfter Effects setup
by on Dec 8, 2010 at 11:47:47 pm

I am new to AE I started messing around with incorporating 3d text in to footage (Fringe like), and after playing around with some of the basic settings (disabling OpenGl, going into the Secret preference changing the purge setting, latest was with multithreading).
However after some tweaks 12sec of footage is taking 20hrs to render (at least it doesn't freeze like it did at first.
I would appreciate pointers also I was thinking of using a separate (from the OS) SSD for keeping the footage and rendering only.

Return to posts index

David JohnsonRe: After Effects setup
by on Dec 9, 2010 at 1:11:30 am

A 20-hour render for 12 secs means something is definitely wrong unless that 12 secs includes hundreds of layers of HD footage with many complex effects, masks, 3D layers, lights, cameras, time-remaps, etc. and you're trying to render that on an Amiga from the 1980s.

The point is that you didn't give any of the info that would allow someone to get an idea of where the problem may be. For example, system specs, project settings, source footage type, etc.

That said, keep in mind there's a reason the Sechret Settings are secret. And, yes, it's always a good idea to have separate drives for sources and renders, neither of which should be the system drive.

Return to posts index

Paweł SłokRe: After Effects setup
by on Dec 9, 2010 at 1:38:53 am

System specs are
Windows 7 professional 64bit
i7 M620 @2.67Ghz up to 3.37Ghz
Nvidia GeForce gt 425M
And I have the Intel integrated graphics which are off for AF

Return to posts index

by on Dec 9, 2010 at 1:54:01 am

Essentially the footage is 13.7Mb of 12sec clipping in AVCHD Video (.m2ts)