ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Fairy wand sparkle trail

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sue BauerFairy wand sparkle trail
by on Dec 6, 2010 at 11:29:33 pm

I've seen this question asked before, but never found a definitive answer. Does anyone have a tutorial for a sparkle trail like the one from Tinkerbell's wand in the Disney cartoons? I have Adobe After Effects CS5 and the Trapcode Particular plugin. I might be able to figure it out on my own by synthesizing other tutorials together but as a beginner I would be most grateful for a specific tutorial.

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Fairy wand sparkle trail
by on Dec 7, 2010 at 2:20:23 pm

Tons of resources for that here. Basically, you'll want to play with the settings so that it gives you the look you want (check the resources I linked), then motion track the tip of the wand, apply that tracking info to a null object, and tie the position of the emitter to the null's position with expressions.

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Sue BauerRe: Fairy wand sparkle trail
by on Dec 8, 2010 at 11:53:04 pm