ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Noob Starting AE project.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Christopher LindseyNoob Starting AE project.
by on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:52:51 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first post on here. I have an AE project I need to build for the agency I work for and I would like some input on what exactly I would need to do to complete it.

A brief background, I have some AE experience but that was in 2001 when I was in school. I build a demo reel and did some other video fx in my AE class. things have changed dramatically since then.

the project: We need to make a short video (about 2.5 minutes). we want something with a globe rotating with photos rotating around it.
1. Some interesting way to bring everything onto the screen
2. photos rotate around the earth
3. animation stops on one photo, it enlarges, and displays a video
4. video stops, video/photo panel goes back to original size, and rotation resumes
5. repeat steps 3 and 4 two more times
6. exit animation

So basically 3 videos will play but we want more photo panels around the globe so it will rotate past a couple and play the 3rd, 6th, and 9th photo panels.

What I need is suggestions on how to best complete this project, should I use stock video or is it easy to build a globe in 3d space and rotate some photos around it? Also, how long do you think a project like this would take for someone with intermediate experience in AE? I am not an intermediate user but I need to know how much time to estimate for billing. Also, if you could estimate how much time it would actually take me (I know this is asking a lot) I would really appreciate it. Any questions or suggestions, please dont hesitate to ask.
-Chris

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Noob Starting AE project.
by on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:53:11 pm

I can't help with the clever way to begin and end, but here's how to do the middle: