ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How do I stop a photo from being repeated in a repeated layer?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andre Anthonio
How do I stop a photo from being repeated in a repeated layer?
on Nov 4, 2010 at 7:11:55 pm

I'm about to commit suicide. Please save me!

Posting a thread is always a last resort for me but in this case I'm more than 12 hours into trying to learn my way around what I think is a fairly basic problem to which I can't find the answer.

I am new to After Effects but I'm experienced editor and Sony Vegas is my preference.

I purchased an AE composition for use with a project and I've been through several tutorials.

In the composition, there is a layer that is repeated several times (that layer is a box in which a photo goes inside) and I want to change the photo every time the layer is repeated.

I can easily change the photo in the first layer, and when I follow the same steps to change the photo in the next layer, AE changes the photo in all the associated layers.

This is very frustrating.

I've tried copying and making a new composition, then it throws off my settings and I get stuck, again. Hours have gone by. I don't have days to fix this.

Is there a way to change the image linked to a repeated layer but not have it affect the other layers?

Hope I'm explaining this correctly. I've been and searched through the Forums and can't find anything specific to this issue.

I'm at the end of my rope. Any and all responses are appreciated.

With, thanks.

Andre Antonio
PHATeFX Panama

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: How do I stop a photo from being repeated in a repeated layer?
on Nov 4, 2010 at 7:35:06 pm

A couple of diagnostic questions: