ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Trying to create a burning effect on video

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matthew Troyansky
Trying to create a burning effect on video
on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:26:21 pm

Hello Creative Cow,

Let me start out by saying i don't know much about AE, I'm new to working with it and have only done basic things with it. I am working with AE 9 is CS4.

I'm trying to create an effect that essentially burns up the video as if you lit the corner of a piece of paper and the fire engulfs it from right to left.

So far I have added the CCBlobbylize effect which I like and has given me the kind of disintegration look that you would see when burning a piece of paper.

Then i also created some fire using the fractal noise effect but my problem is it just looks cheesy. Ideally i would like to just figure out a way to incorporate fire on the edges of the Blobbylize effect instead of an entire layer of fire under my video. Does anyone know how I would be able to achieve this look? I saw the creating fire tutorial using fractal noise but that tutorial is for a still image. I'm trying to add something like that but have it move with my blobbylize edges. Thank you in advance for any insight.

-Matt

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Trying to create a burning effect on video
on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:55:27 pm

There are quite a few tutorials on the COW that you can look at to make fire:
http://library.creativecow.net/search.php?q=fire+%22Adobe+After+Effects%22

Sadly, I don't have any personal experience with them; in those limited instances where I've needed fire I've done it as a practical effect by actually shooting fire.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:17:08 pm