ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Suddenly slow render times - How to troubleshoot?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Shawn McGrathSuddenly slow render times - How to troubleshoot?
by on Sep 17, 2010 at 4:44:26 pm

I’m just getting started with AE and having a blast. I’ve recently had something strange occur and I’m wondering about the steps I should go through to troubleshoot it.

Machine specs:
Windows 7 64-bit
I7 950 processor
Adobe After Effects CS5 (
(2) nVidia GTX 275

Symptom: Very slow rendering times of a comp I’ve been working on. Comp length is 23 seconds. It has 6 Particular 2.1 layers but only limited particles per layer (like 300). When I rendered all 23 seconds yesterday morning, it took 32 minutes. I turned my computer off last night and when I attempt to render again this morning it’s extremely slow and the estimate is 9 hours.
I haven’t touched any multiprocessor or OpenGL settings.

On Wednesday (the day before my 32 minute render), I updated both Adobe AE and my nVidia drivers. Prior to this, I was receiving a bunch of OpenGL errors when editing this comp. It crashed several times on Tuesday night. After I updated AE and my video card drivers, the crashing has stopped.

Could something be corrupt with my comp? How do I troubleshoot this?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Suddenly slow render times - How to troubleshoot?
by on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:38:27 pm

First thing: turn off Open GL for rendering and LEAVE IT OFF. You gain almost nothing by rendering using Open GL acceleration in AE, and you stand to lose a lot by leaving it on.

Then, make sure you leave a couple of processors and a couple gigs of memory for other applications.

Keep in mind that as a 64-bit application, AE 10 can use all the memory on your machine, no matter how much you've got... and 12 GB isn't exactly a world-record amount of RAM.