ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Making and inflating a balloon

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kevin MaurerMaking and inflating a balloon
by on Sep 13, 2010 at 4:15:26 pm

Hi there. I am new to AE and am looking to accomplish something specific: a 3D balloon with the word SURPRISE written on it, inflating with each sound effect of air.

I'd be OK even if I couldn't get an image of a balloon, but at least had the text acting as if it was on a balloon (swelling larger, pushing outward, etc.).

Any thoughts on how a beginner might approach this? Thanks!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Making and inflating a balloon
by on Sep 13, 2010 at 5:04:41 pm

By far the easiest way to do this in AE is to shoot a REAL balloon on a rig against a chroma key background.

It's extremely difficult -- if not downright impossible -- to build a 3D balloon in AE. It takes an actual 3D application to do what you want.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Kevin MaurerRe: Making and inflating a balloon
by on Sep 13, 2010 at 5:40:57 pm

There's no 3D filter I could use, like in Photoshop? Wrap a solid color layer around a sphere, and perhaps use keyframes to change the diameter of the sphere? Or how about an effect to shape the text (arcs, fisheyes, etc.) and warp it like a balloon? Or even create a static image of a balloon with the words and then just animate it closer and closer to the camera?

I don't have rigs and back drops. Not to mention filming a balloon inflating without the interference of a person inflating it...know what I mean?

Return to posts index

Kevin MonahanRe: Making and inflating a balloon
by on Sep 13, 2010 at 6:20:14 pm

You will probably want to do this in a 3D program. Have you checked out Cinema 4D? If you don't have the funds, you can probably do it in Blender.

http://www.blender.org/

Kevin Monahan