ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Render Queue problem

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Balazs Frank
Render Queue problem
on Sep 7, 2010 at 6:28:21 pm

Hi,

I have a big master comp in AE CS4, where each comp is on separate layer, there are 16 layers. I select the first, set the In-Out point with the Alt+Ctrl+B, and then add this to the Render Queue.

I apply these steps to the rest 15 layers.
When checking the rendering settings, the In and Out frames are indicated well. So there are 16 jobs now in the Render Queue.

Now the problem is that all movie is rendered with the last set In/Out region, and I have the SAME movie rendered 16x times!!!
It really drives me mad... hope it is not the way works...

Please help: how to render each section (layer) to its movie file?

Thanks,
Balazs

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Render Queue problem
on Sep 7, 2010 at 6:31:49 pm

The comp is the most basic unit of rendering in AE. You can't render out individual layers in a comp, you have to render out all layers in a comp at the same time.

To do what you seek, I'd say it's time for Plan B.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Balazs Frank
on Sep 7, 2010 at 6:36:02 pm

In the Renders Settings there is a setting called "Time Span".

When I set "Work Area Only", doesn't it mean that it will only render that segment of a comp? It works for RAM Previews, but really it does not work with a lengthy Comp?

Is there any workaround?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
on Sep 7, 2010 at 6:50:25 pm

Okay, now I'm confused.

Are you saying that you have 16 layers, one directly on top of the other in the comp timeline?
Or are you saying you have 16 layers, one following another in consecutive order in the comp timeline?