ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Masking Problem...ermmmm

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Hunter Hempen
Masking Problem...ermmmm
on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:31:52 am

Soooooo, I've been using After Effects CS4 for a few months now, and everything about the masking tool is great. Recently, however, I can't get the next point in the mask to be a straight line after creating a curve. I'll click a beginning point, go across the picture, click again and drag the bender to create the curve, and theoretically after doing this I should be able to click once elsewhere resulting with a straight line to that point.

I find this a bit embarrassing, since I recently did some cool masking effects for a friend's music video, but I am clueless as to how this "masking fluke" is happening.

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
Re: Masking Problem...ermmmm
on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:12:06 am

It sounds to me like you have RotoBezier selected.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
Technical Support for professional video software
After Effects Help & Support
Premiere Pro Help & Support
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Return to posts index

Hunter Hempen
on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:17:32 am

Yeah, thought about that, checked, I don't. :\

Return to posts index

Hunter Hempen
on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:21:16 am

I'll post a video example, though now I've noticed that after curving two points, I have to curve another set of points before being able to go completely straight with the third point...which I guess is okay, but I'd really like it go straight from the get-go.

Return to posts index

Hunter Hempen
on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:49:35 am

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:57:29 am

Oh, I see.