ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

"Breaking Apart" Compositions (saving workflow steps)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alex Volkov"Breaking Apart" Compositions (saving workflow steps)
by on Aug 6, 2010 at 12:55:49 pm

Hi again

(I hope it's ok I create another topic right after my previous one. Those are important issues for me.)

But here it goes:

As a Flash veteran, I like to think of some of the features in After Effects, as if they were Flash's features. For instance; "Pre-Compose" (making an object or animation into a specific composition), I like to think of as "Convert into Symbol" in Flash.

In Flash you can break apart symbols (Ctrl+B), destroying the symbol, replacing it with the actual content. Unless the symbol contains a tween/shape animation inside. But.. if you had symbol 3 inside symbol 2, inside symbol 1, and you Broke apart Symbol 1 twice, you would end up having Symbol 3.

I was wondering if there was a similar feature in After Effects with Compositions? In stead of going inside a specific Composition, Cutting the Layers, going one step back (out of the Composition), and Pasting the Layers..

Is it possible? If yes - how?

Thank you for reading this

P.S. I am still in the learning phase of After Effects, so perhaps I have mistaken some of the current features.

Return to posts index

Dave JohnsonRe: "Breaking Apart" Compositions (saving workflow steps)
by on Aug 6, 2010 at 1:34:31 pm

Unless there's a new feature I'm unaware of or have forgotten something, a set of AE layers that has been pre-composed can't be un-precomposed except via undo, which wouldn't accomplish what it sounds like you want. You can easily duplicate layers before pre-composing them or copy them from comp to comp as many times as you want, but those are the only ways I can think of to get what you want.

Return to posts index