ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Colors from a tutorial do not match

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tim Fast
Colors from a tutorial do not match
on Jun 4, 2010 at 8:24:29 pm

I'm trying to follow this tutorial but it stops for me already in the first step. When I set the specified values I don't get the same image. I get this instead: .

As you can see not only the colors mismatch, the direction of the light is not correct and some other things. Thus, I wonder whether I've done something wrong or the tutorial has some mistakes.

I'm a very newbie in AE and therefore cannot figure out what is wrong by myself. Please help me with this one.

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
Re: Colors from a tutorial do not match
on Jun 4, 2010 at 8:55:12 pm

From the tutorial: "Make sure the layer mode is set to Add on the upper layers."

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Tim Fast
on Jun 4, 2010 at 9:23:52 pm

Thank you for the answer Michael. However, I did change the blending mode to Add but still got the image above.

Return to posts index

Tim Fast
on Jun 5, 2010 at 6:28:50 pm

Has anybody actually tried the tutorial? At least the first step? It would take a couple of minutes but it would give the answer whether it is my fault that the pictures mismatch or the tutorial misses some lines.

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
on Jun 7, 2010 at 3:24:04 am

I think that there's probably a typo in the numbers in that first step. When I followed along, my colors came out kind of purple, like yours. I was able to tweak each of a few differerent things (such as the intensity of the diffuse light) to get the overall blue that seemed right.