ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to Export HUGE Files Faster

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lillian YoungHow to Export HUGE Files Faster
by on May 18, 2010 at 7:48:46 pm

I need to export six movies that are about 769x576-ish in dimension and at least 1 hour each.

These are web captures of text and static graphics with minor frame designing done in After Effects, hence the export from AE vs. another program.

The client wants these videos by 5pm tomorrow, so I have a little over 24 hours to complete them.

My method

1. Export in the render queue (Animation codec) so that I have a master mov copy

2. Export an FLV from that master mov

The problem with this is that my first export of a master mov from AE is estimated to take over 4 hours. That puts me into the evening for ONE video.

Then of course there's a chance for an error (like a memory error). Not to mention the time it'll take to render the FLV from that huge file!

I'm used to these high settings for real videos with shorter durations. I have never exported an hour-long webcast from After Effects,and maybe I don't need my normal high settings for this webcast?

Any suggestions?

Work Machine Specs

Mac OS 10.5.2
2x3 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
4GB 800 RAM

Exporting to a Lacie 1TB drive

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: How to Export HUGE Files Faster
by on May 18, 2010 at 8:06:49 pm

[Lillian Young] "I need to export six movies that are about 769x576-ish"

That's an odd sort of screen resolution. The 576 leads me to believe we're talking about PAL SD.

[Lillian Young] "2. Export an FLV from that master mov "

Does the client want FLV's? I presume the answer's yes. But that 576 is bugging me: is the client going to put these to DVD's or something?