ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

FCP to After Effects - Composition settings/problems

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jason BachFCP to After Effects - Composition settings/problems
by on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:50:21 pm

I really am racking my head here. I'm new to AE and am discovering that FCP and AE do not really play well together, at least if you're a beginner. I have a sequence that I have exported from FCP by Export->Quicktime. Video only, and as a reference file. I open up AE, import the .mov and drag into a new composition. The .mov/sequence is 1440x1080 16:9 HD. Compressor is DVCPRO 1080i50 and the editing timebase is 25 (dont ask me how THAT happened, as I shot this footage in 24p, dropped right into a new sequence and said yes to FCP hen it asked me to change the sequence settings to match the clip settings - has that happened to anyone?)

I thought I had the correct composition settings in AE, but when the new comp comes up, it is obviously the wrong aspect ratio and everything is squished. I double checked my settings for the comp: I select the preset DVCPRO HD 1080 25. 1440x1080. and it forces the Pixel Aspect Ratio to HDV 1080/DVCPRO HD 720 (1.33). I think to myself, that doesnt sound right, so I change the aspect ratio to: DVCPRO 1080 HD (1.5). THAT changes my preset to Custom.

Either way, I cant get the correct 16:9 aspect ratio in tghis composition no matter what I do.

HELP! What in the world am I doing wrong?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: FCP to After Effects - Composition settings/problems
by on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:28:12 pm

[Jason Bach] "Compressor is DVCPRO 1080i50 and the editing timebase is 25 (dont ask me how THAT happened, as I shot this footage in 24p..."

Everything else is minor. This frame rate difference isn't.

Go back to the FCP project, and look at the footage in the browser: what does the browser have to say about the frame rate?