ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Apple ProRes 422 *Please advise*

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Youssef Sarhan
Apple ProRes 422 *Please advise*
on Apr 25, 2010 at 7:45:26 pm

Hey Guys,

Long time reader, first time poster here, so go easy! I'm relatively new to the world of visual effects and motion graphics. I have been learning and teaching myself for a few years but I'm now beginning to take on clients.

I work in AE CS4 and I currently have a client who is asking for the following output for the delivery format.

File: QuickTime .mov
Codec: Apple ProRes 422
Size: Native aspect ratio
Bitrate: Native bitrate
Audio: 48 kHz, Stereo

Could somebody guide me through the steps to achieve this. I hope you guys can help as this is urgent.

Return to posts index

Richard Harrington
Re: Apple ProRes 422 *Please advise*
on Apr 25, 2010 at 9:37:09 pm

You'll need prores codecs part off FCS

go under edit menu and find output module

customize there.

But info client gave you is incomplete

Richard M. Harrington, PMP

Author: Video Made on a Mac, Photoshop for Video, Understanding Adobe Photoshop, Final Cut Studio On the Spot and ATS:iWork

Return to posts index

Youssef Sarhan
on Apr 25, 2010 at 9:51:27 pm

Hey Richard,

Yeah, I just did some more reading about prores442.. turns out I'll need FCP 6+. I only have 5. Is there a workaround?

As for the info client require, what additional information do I need?

Finally, would h.265 be a recommendable alternative to the apple codec?

Thank you for the reply.

Return to posts index

Richard Harrington
on Apr 25, 2010 at 11:51:51 pm

Only workaround us to get client to change

your missing frame size and rate

there us no h.265. Plus that's a delivery not authoring codec

talk client into animation or Apple 10 bit

Richard M. Harrington, PMP