ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

AE CS4 Incredibly Slow Render Times

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Fabio BasoneAE CS4 Incredibly Slow Render Times
by on Mar 29, 2010 at 10:16:04 pm

I'm fairly new to AE so i'm not sure what i should be expecting in regards to Render times but they seem to be incredibly long. For a 1'30" project - it takes over 20hours with motion blur on and about half that without.

Here are my specs
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro3,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.6 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz

The project is fairly complex (in my opinion) with about 8 layers of video animating in 3d space with camera moves.

I'm exporting to Quicktime in Full Res HD (1920 x 1080) although i've tried motion-jpeg and it doesn't seem to be that much quicker.

I've tried fiddling with the Multiprocessor settings and although it does make some difference, the render times still seem to be very long.

What should my multi-processor settings be for a laptop of the above specs?

Also, although i have 4gig of RAM installed when i render out the message in the bottom left says it's only using 13% of 3gb of RAM. Why is that? It seems AE isn't using all the resources at it's disposal?
Obviously, i've tried quitting other apps / background processes and i have over 70GB left on the hard drive.

Any advice / tips would be greatly appreciated as at the moment i'm finding the long render times make the program unusable.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: AE CS4 Incredibly Slow Render Times
by on Mar 29, 2010 at 10:24:44 pm

Common causes for AE woes have only been covered many times:
  • Got the free upgrade to AE 9.02? Get it.
  • Got Open GL turned on for rendering? Turn it off, it does more harm than good.