ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Rendering in After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Logan BrownRendering in After Effects
by on Mar 22, 2010 at 7:05:08 pm

I am new to after effects and i'm just trying out a few animations that I have created.. they work perfectly and everything but when I render in Quick time it takes hours..

for instance it took 7 hours to render a 13 second animation.. but only in quick time.. all other file times take no time at all.

here is a screen shot of all my settings..
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

if the picture is too small here is the url:

Thanks! and Please help!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Rendering in After Effects
by on Mar 22, 2010 at 7:24:37 pm

The things we DON'T see in that screen grab are whether you're using Open GL (don't), you have the AE 9.02 upgrade (free), or are using multiprocessing, which you probably shouldn't since you have just 7GB. Perhaps you should read this: .... and this:

We DO see that you've got AMD processors, which aren't necessarily the best for AE work. Sorry.

We also see that you're trying to make an H.264 file:

Dave's Stock Answer #3:

Don't use AE to compress files for final delivery. The various compressors are there only to make quick 'n dirty files showing a project's progress to producers, clients, the kids, etc. AE is incapable of doing multipass encoding, a crucial feature that greatly improves the image quality of H.264 and MPEG-type files in particular.

Render a high-quality file from AE, and use a different application to do the compression. Popular ones are Adobe Media Encoder, Sorenson Squeeze and Apple's Compressor, which comes bundled with Final Cut Suite. Even compressing in Quicktime Pro is better than compressing in AE.