ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Back To The Future Fan Video

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
cow
Zachary Snyder
Back To The Future Fan Video
on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:07:03 pm

Hey everyone, I'm a total amateur at this After Effects stuff, but I was planning on making a video involving me dressed as Doc Brown from Back To The Future, and my car acting as the Delorean time machine.

Basically I want to emulate these two scenes, with a combination of shooting with me and my car, and for some parts splicing Michael J. Fox with me dressed as Doc.

Scene 1: The Delorean's first ride: http://www.hulu.com/watch/22646/back-to-the-future-the-delorean#s-p1-so-i0
Scene 2: Roads?: http://www.hulu.com/watch/24491/back-to-the-future-part-ii-roads

So I'm just going to explain what I want to do and if anyone could please take the time to either explain how they would do it using After Effects, or point me to a tutorial, or just tell me what the name of the effect is that I should google... that would be such a big help!

For the first scene I would like to splice myself over Doc Brown when hes talking to Marty, I should be able to do it using a green screen, but if anyone has a favorite chroma key tutorial please share. Next I'm going to get a shot of my car driving, so how do I get the blue flashes of light, the explosion at 88mph, and the famous flame tracks afterwards...

Now for scene two, I want to be able to splice myself into the car with Marty, (I want to be able to say "where were going we dont need roads..."). Again im going to try green screening it, is there any way to mute the person speaking while still keeping the background music?