ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Help! setting up presentation Square pixels or rectangle? + frame size?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rachel Knight
Help! setting up presentation Square pixels or rectangle? + frame size?
on Feb 18, 2010 at 11:04:32 am

Hello! I am very new to after effects and this is my first (of probably many) questions to post (I hope it doesn't sound too silly)

I have been asked to create a presentation but am having trouble as to how to set it up.

It is going to be projected onto a bigish screen in UK hotel for a conference I know the screen has the aspect ratio of 4:3. So would I use 720x756 (PAL?) or is there a bigger frame size that would work better for a higher quality?

The Hotel wants me to create it as a DVD but the client wants it as Hi-res a possible and is trying to get it played out via a laptop, (not happy for it to be DVD quality). While they battle it out I am to create the presentation, but don't know how to set it up regarding pixel size and square or rectangle pixels (or does this not matter and can it be easily changed?)

I've only projected from a computer before so know how it will look. I am worried about DVD as i don't know about the rectangle pixel thing and don't want everything to look fine on screen but squashed when put onto DVD and have to redo it?! Also would like to create it bigger for higher quality then I can render it out smaller if needed. (don't want to start creating it too small!) or am I worrying about nothing!

I hope someone can help!

Thank you :)

Return to posts index

Ben McAllister
Re: Help! setting up presentation Square pixels or rectangle? + frame size?
on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:23:56 pm

Hello Rachel