ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

System requirements for FullHD

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Glenn DavidsonSystem requirements for FullHD
by on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:15:29 am

Hi all, I'm a noob and have been asked to do a 30sec promo for a trade show. I'm running Window XP sp3 - Intel Quad core 6600 2.4Gb with 3Gb RAM. Will this be a decent system to export FullHD quality?

We are looking at purchasing AE CS4 and need to know if we need an upgrade. 2ndly we're based in Australia and should I use 1920 x 1080 25fps Square Pixel project?

Thanks for any help,
best regards, Glenn

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: System requirements for FullHD
by on Feb 12, 2010 at 5:21:42 am

[Glenn Davidson] "Hi all, I'm a noob and have been asked to do a 30sec promo for a trade show"

How far away is your deadline? If it's less than three weeks, you're already in trouble.

AE is NOT the kind of application where you can learn a couple of tricks just to get by, no sir! You absolutely, positively MUST know the basics, or AE will put you so far into a World Of Hurt that you won't know how to get out. I recommend starting here:
http://blogs.adobe.com/toddkopriva/2010/01/getting-started-with-after-eff.h...

Todd Kopriva from Adobe has a fine collection of information there, and you should look at all of it.

I'm not kidding -- you have to know the basics. Nobody on any forum enjoys getting "What do I do next?" questions every five minutes from someone who thought he or she could skip the basics and jump right into the deep end.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Glenn Davidson] "I'm running Window XP sp3 - Intel Quad core 6600 2.4Gb with 3Gb RAM. Will this be a decent system to export FullHD quality? We are looking at purchasing AE CS4 and need to know if we need an upgrade."