ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects and Nikon Camera RAW

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Uloth
After Effects and Nikon Camera RAW
on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:36:02 pm

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to After Effects although I know FCP quite well.

I've shot green-screened stop-motion footage (using Dragon Stop-Motion) with the Nikon D90 camera. The files are RAW files, not jpegs.

I would like some help figuring out my workflow for keying and compositing the images in After Effects.

My editing suite only has AE 6.5 and Photoshop CS2 and I don't think either of those programs support Nikon's RAW format. What should I do? Is there a more recent version of AE capable of working directly with Nikon's RAW files? Or do I need to convert them to another file format first? What would be the best (read: highest quality and resolution) format to use if I can't just use the RAW files?

Also, how do I edit the stop-motion footage into a final version of the film before I start compositing the green-screen stuff into a background plate? I would usually edit any video footage in FCP but the program isn't capable of handling the RAW format.

I'm slowly working my way through the AE tutorials on Youtube and Creative Cow but I'd love to get some feedback on my specific needs.

Thanks!

David

Using a Mac Pro, 2.66 GHz Quad-core, 8 GB RAM, OS 10.6.2, Photoshop CS2, AE 6.5, and FC Studio 2, (FCP 6.0.6).

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: After Effects and Nikon Camera RAW
on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:20:05 pm

[David Uloth] "Hi, I'm a complete newbie to After Effects although I know FCP quite well... My editing suite only has AE 6.5..."