ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

AE Plug Ins

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Beau BrothertonAE Plug Ins
by on Jan 12, 2010 at 5:55:02 pm

I apologize for this, I just posted on the Motion Graphics forum but realized that this should of been the post that used originally. So I apologize.

I have been using AE for about two years now, but I still wouldn't consider myself an expert at all. I usually have an idea in my head, try it in AE, then end up using FCP or Motion because I get frustrated. The best thing that I am good at is story telling editing. I cut in FCP and really love finding the moments in a short promo spot or interview and creating something that has a beginning middle and end to it.

But, I am realizing that I am progressing quickly at this and my clients are growing as well as my prices, but my images are becoming a little "stale". I love motion graphics and give the most respect to this craft and would love to hire someone in the future. But as for now I am a one man show shooting, editing, producing, so I am looking for some awesome plug-ins that will allow me to comp in some great layers and add to my productions.

Below a link to the type of style that I'd like to add: (I know that this is faith based, but please just concentrate on the layers, textures, etc)

So, what do y'all think the best AE plug ins would be for a novice AE user? I am currently looking at Digital Juice's "Motion Designer's Toolkit" (I love the many many many different looks, textures, etc. And!! pre rendered as well as AE project originals). I also like Red Giant's Trapcode Particular, and I have looked into Video CoPilot a little.

So what do y'all think the best would be? In terms of shelf life and ease of use for a beginner to quickly be able to add some simple texture