ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Diffrence between After Effects and Premier?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Edward Ferron
Diffrence between After Effects and Premier?
on Jan 7, 2010 at 3:12:25 pm

What is the primary difference between Adobe After Effects and Adobe Premier CS3/4? When would I use one over the other?

I am currently a Sony Vegas Pro 9.0 user, which product is closer to Sony Vegas?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Diffrence between After Effects and Premiere?
on Jan 7, 2010 at 4:08:08 pm

Premiere is like Vegas without the plethora of special effects bells & whistles.

After Effects is like Super-Duper-Vegas on steroids, blowing Vegas out of the water in terms of effects and compositing... but with no editing capabilities. Well, with no editing capabilities that you'd actually want to USE.

Kapiche?

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Edward Ferron
on Jan 7, 2010 at 4:39:51 pm

Thanks but what do you mean no editing capabilities?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
on Jan 7, 2010 at 5:14:04 pm

You know how easy it is to do insert and overwrite-style edits, or add transitions, or do three-point editing -- all on the same layer -- in Vegas? Those capabilities don't even exist in AE. That's what Premiere is for.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer

Return to posts index

Edward Ferron
on Jan 7, 2010 at 7:59:30 pm

So I like you description, it sounds like Vegas is the best in-between utility, and given the fact I have developed a lot of expertise on Vegas over the past 5 years, I am not sure I really need to invest into AE and Premier. hmmm!

Thanks again!

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
Re: Difference between After Effects and Premiere
on Jan 7, 2010 at 4:17:14 pm