ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

HD Presentation Video : Help!!!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt MartinHD Presentation Video : Help!!!
by on Dec 30, 2009 at 7:06:40 pm

Hi,

I am new to working with the HD format

Deliverable for this project will need to be displayed on an HD monitor. Client may be playing off a windows laptop, not sure if they have access to a blu-ray player, they could be encouraged to get one. I am hoping to find a codec and resolution that can be played directly from the pc, but I am open to suggestions if there is a better way to do it.

Essentially, I am looking for advice on compression, codecs and resolution, that will have the end product be as beautiful as it can be.

My current plan is to work in 720p. Then spit that out as uncompressed from AE and rerender in H.264 for playback on a laptop. Not sure if rendering it uncompressed is necessary, in the past it has been useful in eliminating artifacts but I haven't messed around with AE since CS2.

Things I DON'T have

- Time... project needs to be done in a couple weeks
- Final Cut.. I do have Premiere on this machine
- Blu-Ray burner.. but here are vendors that could do this for me

I am open to working in 1080p or 1080i, I am open to collaborating with a vendor to produce a blu-ray disc. As always client wants to keep the budget as low as possible.

I'm wondering if anyone has had success working with laptops and HD monitors and what codecs and resolutions worked best for them, and how their end product might compare to a full resolution HD playback from a blu-ray. I'm not a pixel snob, and my machine is a bit out of date (pentium3) so if 720 looks good enough, it will certainly help move the project out the door faster, save the client money, and make me look good.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: HD Presentation Video : Help!!!
by on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:42:54 pm