ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Help with stop motion special effects??

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Fay HamiltonHelp with stop motion special effects??
by on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:22:40 pm

I am a media student and would really appreciate some help with these effects. I am doing a stop motion project at college and for my mine I have chosen to do a music video. The video is a mixture of fashion photography and motion graphics. I'm planning to use real paint which drops onto the images to create graphics. This is all supposed to be live action, however, I think I should use After Effects to make the movement easier.

The problem is I have never used this software before, and without the graphics the video will not work. I'm good with Photoshop but have never tried to animate graphics before.

I want the person to move on these different fashion magazine covers, and to use the paint to enhance the images and as a transition. So effects I need to learn; how to make paint soak into paper and people and then dissolve. Generally how to make graphics move behind a person (one part the person is walking on a magazine cover and graphics follow her), paint splats, colour blends, how to make paint splash, and then the droplets rise and spin around to form a person. (Similar effect to Michael Jackson's video 'Remember the time' except they will be standing and its more colourful.

Can this all be done with just stop motion images? Is it possible to take pictures of paint splashes and then animate it with After Effects? Sorry for all of the questions. I don't have a clue how to do any of this but I have loads of ideas and I'm determined to learn ;)

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Help with stop motion special effects??
by on Dec 29, 2009 at 3:19:08 pm

If it's supposed to be live action, I would think using AE would be considered cheating...