ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Giving the illusion of speed?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Natalie Deans
Giving the illusion of speed?
on Dec 20, 2009 at 1:53:55 am

Hey,

I'm new to After Effects and pretty much am clueless on how to do some stuff. I'm making a short film using Premiere Pro and I need to give the illusion that parts of the shot are travelling at 2-3 times their normal speed. The main figure in the shot has to remain eventually remain stationary as the people and cars around move faster.

Any help with how to do this would be awesome.

Cheers

Natalie

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
Re: Giving the illusion of speed?
on Dec 20, 2009 at 6:34:50 pm

Do the people and cars in the shot cross behind or in front of your main talent? If so, you're in for a fun time! You'll want to read up on how to do rotoscoping in After Effects.

Basically you'll need to have your non-moving talent on one layer and your fast moving video on one (or more) other layers.

If nothing crosses your main talent, then you could do a really rough mask around them, but otherwise you're gonna be rotoscoping.

I did this once for a dream sequence in a short film. The talent was running on a pedestrian bridge in slow motion while the traffic and everything below him was flying along at very high speed. We had planned this shot ahead of time so that all we had to do was put the bottom part of the mask along the bottom of the pedestrian bridge so it looked like a seamless shot.

Planning your shot ahead is going to be key. For example, if you're going to have cars behind your talent and people walking in front of them, you might want to shoot three different passes.
One of your talent with a green screen held behind them.
One of the cars and other background movement.
One of the people who will be walking in front of your talent in front of a green screen.