ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Please!!!!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
carlos dessler
Please!!!!
on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:13:25 pm

hey everyone. I posted a question like a week ago. I have no answers so I´m trying again. I know this question has been asked before, for that, I apologize. I need an answer though. thanks in advance.

I am starting into the motion graphics business, I have been using FCP for 2 years now, but i want to make more professional looking videos, as I have a lot of demand for them right now. I have the chance to get either an iMac (4 gb RAM, 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 500 gb HD, NVIDIA G FORCE), or a PC (HP, quad core 2.8 gb, 8GB ddr2 RAM, 500 GB HD, NVIDIA G FORCE).

The PC is half the price as the iMac. I could expand the iMac´s RAM to 8GB, although i might wait and see how it works. I really need the advice of professionals. I want to use AE and a lot of plug-ins that come with it. I dont think Ill be doing a lot of 3D stuff at first. Maybe animating logos or something, but not that much.

Thanks a lot!!

carlos dessler

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Please!!!!
on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:36:02 pm

Go to the Adobe Web site, to the After Effects user forum. Search for information about Windows 7. Can AE work with it?

If the answer is "yes", get the PC, get Windows 7, a 64-bit OS, and get more RAM -- bring it up to 24, or even better, 32 GB. AE can use a LOT of RAM.

Do your AE work oriented towards quicktime. Go to the Apple Web site. Get QT 7.x and NOT QT X. QT X may only be available under Snow Leopard, but you still DO NOT want it: it's too consumer-oriented, and it has bad professional tools. Get QT Pro: $30.00 US. Get the ProRes Decoder (free).

Get MacDrive: it lets PCs see Mac-formatted discs. Very handy.