ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Problem with keyframes

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David YowellProblem with keyframes
by on Dec 2, 2009 at 6:19:42 am

I am a relative rookie to AE, but I have been successful with quite a few projects. However, I am having a problem with setting keyframes. I have project that is 640x480. I have a JPEG of a brick wall that is about 1000x800 and it has some pictures that look as if they are hanging on the brick wall with nails in them. I want to show each of these pics so I began the project by setting a keyframe at frame 1. I zoomed in on the pic in the far right-hand corner. I then moved the CTI to about 5 seconds and zoomed out of the pic. However, when I zoom out, the edge of the bricks could be seen and I didn't want that. So I panned a little to the left set those keyframes. Here's where my problem lies. When it zooms out of the first picture, you can still see the edge of the bricks and then it moves over. My question is, what am I doing wrong. I want it to zoom out and still just see the bricks, not any of the background.

I know that I'm doing something really stupid here, but I just can't figure it out. I would appreciate any help that you can give me.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Problem with keyframes
by on Dec 2, 2009 at 4:03:03 pm

To pull this off, don't animate the Position property, animate the Anchor Point.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

David YowellRe: Problem with keyframes
by on Dec 3, 2009 at 3:38:46 am

Thanks for your response Dave. I tried what you said, but didn't have any luck. I'm probably not explaining myself very well. Here's what's happening.