ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Best way for a newbie to animate this? (pic insde)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stephen LyonBest way for a newbie to animate this? (pic insde)
by on Dec 2, 2009 at 2:22:22 am

I have just watched a few hours of a beginners tutorial in one sitting, so if I have missed the obvious answer it's because my brain is melting, sorry.

Anyway, I'm completely new to AE I need to animate the image below so the ribbon wraps itself around the text in the matter of a few seconds.

If it's possible for a beginner to make the thing wrap around as if it's actually a loose bit of ribbon swirling around the text that would be ideal (this has to impress someone important).

If not, then some other cheap trick will do, I was thinking of masking out the ribbon and tweening the mask around to make it draw itself, with a floating glow+particles to hide the nasty edge of the mask. But if there is a more After Effects way of making something draw itself that would be spiffing. Ideally though I would like to do the ribbon wrapping thing.

Normally I would just keep watching tuts and get better, but this is one of those annoying circumstances where I have to get this done fairly quickly.

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Richard HarringtonRe: Best way for a newbie to animate this? (pic insde)
by on Dec 2, 2009 at 5:15:46 am

Look at 3D Stroke from Trapcode

Richard M. Harrington, PMP

Author: Video Made on a Mac, Photoshop for Video, Understanding Adobe Photoshop, Final Cut Studio On the Spot and ATS:iWork

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Best way for a newbie to animate this? (pic insde)
by on Dec 2, 2009 at 4:07:20 pm