ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects : How to control the transparency of pre-composed layers ? Screen alternative ?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Shuaib Jewon
After Effects : How to control the transparency of pre-composed layers ? Screen alternative ?
on Nov 30, 2009 at 3:50:53 pm

Hi , I'm pretty new to AE and I have 2 questions :-

1st question :

I have several pre-composed layers . Now I was wondering if there was a plugin or an in-built function that allows you to control the transparency of an object.

2nd question :

When I use " screen " on my 3d layer , the latter becomes so transparent that you can hardly see anything ! So , I was wondering if there was an alternative to screen .

Note : I have already tried using overlay .
: It doesn't matter if I have to buy expensive plugins.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Walk Before You Run
on Nov 30, 2009 at 5:50:46 pm

[Shuaib Jewon] "I'm pretty new to AE... I was wondering if there was a plugin or an in-built function that allows you to control the transparency of an object... I was wondering if there was an alternative to screen... It doesn't matter if I have to buy expensive plugins."

Your post reveals that you have much to learn about After Effects, and I mean A LOT. This is NOT the kind of application where you can achieve a given effect in a few easy steps. There is simply too much to learn.

I recommend looking at the AE Basics (or AE 101, I forget the actual name) section on Andrew Kramer's videocopilot.net web site.

For a thorough After Effects education, I recommend Total Training's After Effects DVDs. There are also very good AE tutorials right here on the COW, too.

And as a reference work, you can't beat AE's own online help.

PS: look at the Opacity Property.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Shuaib Jewon