ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects basics video import

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alec WestAfter Effects basics video import
by on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:01:21 pm

Hi,

Newbie here. Just joined. I have video files in the DVCPRO HD codec, 720p60 (960 x 720). I'm guessing when i import the video to after effects, my comp settings should be the DVCPRO HD 720 29.97. However they only offer a highest frame rate of 29.97 and no 60 frame rate. Do i just customly add the frame rate in to 60 or keep it at a lower frame rate than the source? I see in premiere pro, they have the option of 60 frame rates...

Also i just want to make sure i have the entire procedure correct. First i should import the video to after effects, and key out the background, add text effects, etc... then export it (and i'm not which settings, but i presume same as the source). Once it is exported, i import the footage to premiere pro where i add in the sound, and edit the footage to the appropriate length and cut out scenes, etc... Then i export it to its final format from premiere pro and i'm done. OR would i be better off to take the footage (about 4 hours worth), edit it down in premiere pro so i have all the cuts exactly how i want it, export it to after effects, then bring it back to premiere pro to add back the sound. As after effects doesnt work with sound.

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: After Effects basics video import
by on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:02:34 pm

Drag your footage onto the Make Comp icon at the bottom of the project window. The result: a comp that has the settings of your footage.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: After Effects basics video import
by on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:11:51 pm

Whoops! I missed half your post!