ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Bezier Handles in graph editor

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tony Hudson
Bezier Handles in graph editor
on Jul 24, 2009 at 3:33:35 pm

I am fairly new to AE, having used mostly Shake in the past. I have an issue where my Bezier handles appear inconsistently. I set the keys to Continuous Bezeir and sometimes the key will have a handle and sometimes it will not. Is there a handle visibility toggle I am missing? I have searched the help and web in vain.

thanks

Tony Hudson- Visual FX Supervisor for "The Singularity is Near" and "The Pranksters"

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Bezier Handles in graph editor
on Jul 24, 2009 at 3:37:31 pm

What happens when you put the timreline cursor on the keyframe whose handles you want to tweak?

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Tony Hudson
on Jul 24, 2009 at 3:42:51 pm

When I highlight the keyframe it will glow yellow, but no handle. I can visually see the slope of the curve change when I toggle from linear to Continuous, but I have not handle to control the slope. perplexing.

Tony Hudson- Visual FX Supervisor for "The Singularity is Near" and "The Pranksters"

Return to posts index

Tony Hudson
on Jul 24, 2009 at 3:51:53 pm

I should also mention that I am losing the Bezier handles in the value graph, not the speed graph.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
on Jul 24, 2009 at 9:27:49 pm

AE Help has this to say about such things:

"Two types of graphs are available in the Graph Editor: value graphs, which show property values; and speed graphs, which show rates of change of property values. For temporal properties, such as Opacity, the Graph Editor defaults to the value graph. For spatial properties, such as Position, the Graph Editor defaults to the speed graph."

Could that be the problem? I found that tidbit of info here: