ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to add frames/move keyframes?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Raulio
How to add frames/move keyframes?
on Mar 5, 2007 at 2:49:25 pm

Hi all,
I am quite new to AE (was doing Flash animation before). There's something that I've been trying to figure out in AE:

How can I add frames to a timeline?
If you're familiar with Flash, we can hit F5 (insert frames) at a certain point in the timeline, and all subsequent keyframes will be pushed back accordingly.

I've been trying to find a similar feature in AE. So far, I've been selecting and moving all keyframes manually if I want to change the animation timing. I tried using time remapping, but I think inserting "frames" will be easier and more accurate most of the time. Please help.

Many thanks!
Raul

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: How to add frames/move keyframes?
on Mar 5, 2007 at 6:24:02 pm

AE doesn't have that F5 insert frames capability. However, you can lasso all keyframes you want to move, and move them en masse with no problems.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV

Return to posts index

duffbeer911
on Mar 5, 2007 at 11:42:36 pm

or right click on a keyframe and you can "Select all following keyframes" or "Select all previous keyframes" .... very handy

Return to posts index

Raulio
on Mar 6, 2007 at 2:56:40 am

Thanks for the replies. Actually, I've been lassoing and moving keyframes manually. This is where I find it to be a very tedious process. On bigger projects with many layers I spend a lot of time selecting the keyframes, because I need to expand and scroll to the layers and find which ones have the keyframes before I could lasso them.

Right clicking on a keyframe and selecting all following keyframes seem to work only on a single layer. Is there an easy way to select all subsequent keyframes on all layers?