ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Using repeated shapes as parents

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Fritz O'BrienUsing repeated shapes as parents
by on Jun 2, 2016 at 12:49:30 pm

G'day all.
I'm trying to create a historical timeline (history teacher still learning basic AE).
I have all my shapes/dashes sorted (representing decades/centuries/millenia) using the repeater function and through liberal use of the pick-whip and really basic expressions i can expand/contract the spacing depending on the area of focus.

What I'm having trouble with is aligning text boxes (dates) to points on the line. As I expand or contract the line I want the text to follow the movement of the repeated shape (ie millenia line etc).

I imagine it's not a particularly difficult issue, but as I'm new to this stuff I don't even have the vocab to effectively search for an answer.

I've attached an image and any help would be appreciated.
Fritz

PS. You CreativeCOW people have been gold, providing a huge help for me as I've been learning. Keep it up!

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Using repeated shapes as parents
by on Jun 2, 2016 at 5:49:59 pm

I would make my line, repeating line, text box and parent them all to a null, then use the null scale to zoom in and out. Without knowing your exact set-up, you might have created something where you can't do it that way now, though.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
ThinkCK

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Fritz O'BrienRe: Using repeated shapes as parents
by on Jun 3, 2016 at 1:40:51 am

Just to be sure I'm not barking up the wrong tree-
I've used a shape layer with three shapes:
"Centuries" (2x200px)
"Millenia" (2x300px)
"Decades" (2x150px)