ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Self Learning After Effects/MoGraph - Tips, Strategies, Advice

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jason BrownSelf Learning After Effects/MoGraph - Tips, Strategies, Advice
by on May 9, 2016 at 2:36:53 pm

I've been learning After Effects for the past 4 months using online tutorials and books. Starting from the basic videos on using AE and animation principles then onto a few more advanced tutorials. I still haven't delved into Cinema4d yet but plan to do so soon.

For anyone else who has taught themselves motion graphics via books and the internet, what learning strategies did you use/find helpful? I've tried to pace myself until I fully understand techniques and principles but after I got the basics out the way, I've find my learning becoming a bit scattered and unorganised, jumping from one video to another, not really knowing exactly what it is I want to learn.

I purchased books on graphic design and Wucius Wong 'Principles of Form and Design' in an effort to develop my own original ideas as oppose to copying peoples work from tutorials.

I know this is a very broad question to ask but I'm just looking for a bit of advice that may aid my learning.

My plan is to begin creating a demo reel but I'm still struggling to think up original content.

Just a few questions:

When you watch tutorials, do you follow them along step by step, recreating what you see in the video? Do you watch the video multiple times? Take notes?

How many hours a day do/did you put into learning?

What advice would have for generating original ideas? I think I've overlooked the importance of sketching roughs out as oppose to jumping straight into AE, this is something I plan to work on more.

Thanks for reading,

Return to posts index

Nathan WaltersRe: Self Learning After Effects/MoGraph - Tips, Strategies, Advice
by on May 9, 2016 at 3:07:43 pm