ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Blog: Meet the Southeast Creative Summit Presenters: Mary Poplin

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
walter biscardiBlog: Meet the Southeast Creative Summit Presenters: Mary Poplin
by on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:43:55 pm

A continuing series to get to know your Southeast Creative Summit Presenters. In this episode: Mary Poplin!

Why did you choose visual effects and motion graphics as your career path?

When I was a little girl, I used to dream of working at Disney as a 2D animator. However, by the time I got to college, not only was that style of animation going away, but also I found out that I did not eat, breathe, and sleep onion skinning the way you really need to in order to be an animator. So that left me with still loving movies and having a strong foundation in the arts and painting. I earned my degree in Illustration with top honors from the Savannah College of Art & Design and came out to the West Coast to seek my fortune, and I found work immediately with Paramount’s “Barnyard: The Original Party Animals.” For a first gig, it was a pretty good one, and for nearly a decade I have been creating matte paintings and roto-paint work for all kinds of companies, including the late Cafe FX, Threshold, Go-For-Launch Productions, Stereo D, and all sorts of freelance work.

As an editor, why should I add visual effects or motion graphics to my arsenal?