ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

RAM Preview and Render Issues

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ryan SmithRAM Preview and Render Issues
by on Apr 30, 2016 at 9:04:11 pm

Hello! I have been fooling around in After Effects and I have been having a great time. I am currently making an audio visualizer. I am still new to After Effects and i'm trying to figure things out. But my issue is that the RAM Preview and Rendering is very slow when I add an audio spectrum with 2000 frequency bands and Trapcode Particular. I have more of an issue previewing my work because it takes forever to load and it makes it difficult to see what I am making because I have to wait a while. At first I thought it could be my specs of the computer or the settings I have. But when I changed the memory and multiprocessing settings to use my computers resources since I noticed AE peaked at using 30% of CPU and 20% of RAM.

I have set my RAM available for AE at 13GB
And I have set my core to 2GB per core (My CPU has 4 cores)

After doing those settings I get the same results with my computer usage. I have looked all over on how to fix this and I cant seem to find out how to do it.

Here is my PC specs if you need them:
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 970
CPU: Intel i5-4750 @3.20ghz
RAM: 16GB
I am also using CS6

Thank you!

Moo! Im a cow!

Return to posts index

James CarverRe: RAM Preview and Render Issues
by on Apr 30, 2016 at 10:27:19 pm

Does that plugin use the RAM from the cpu or rely moreso on the graphics card? Do you know?

iMac 27" Late 2013
32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3.5 GHz Intel Core i7
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4096 MB

Return to posts index

Ryan SmithRe: RAM Preview and Render Issues
by on Apr 30, 2016 at 10:39:58 pm

I do not know that. But I have been playing around and I found out Trapcode Particular is the reason why it is rendering so slow. Is there anyway I can fix that?

Moo! Im a cow!