ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Newbie VFX question Fog and Cliff

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ken Barnes
Newbie VFX question Fog and Cliff
on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:52:07 am

Hi,
I'm a writer director and have a scene in script where a car goes over a cliff at night on a very foggy road. It teeters on the edge of the cliff for a while, then plunges into the darkness.

1. How difficult would this be to do using VFX, given there is no budget to actually tip a car over? (and don't think the authorities would approve) I'm thinking of using a model car and perspective shooting, but no idea if that's really practical or if there might be a better way. Not sure if green screen would be helpful here given the scale of the location.

2. Is it relatively easy to generate realistic fog over the whole scene? It needs to appear in wides, CUs, and outside the car when shot from POV interior of car.

I hope that is enough information for any experts here. I really appreciate your help. If there are any links to similar work out there, I'd love to have a look.

Ken

'It's not a question of becoming. It's a question of uncovering what you really are, of letting everything that is not yourself fall away'. - Journey to Ladakh

I think this applies to editing as well....

Ken Barnes, Producer, Director, Editor
http://www.blissmonkeyfilms.com

Return to posts index

Soham Jani
Re: Newbie VFX question Fog and Cliff
on Apr 21, 2016 at 12:56:22 pm