ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Cool effects ideas for a few games of youth flag football?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
alan james
Cool effects ideas for a few games of youth flag football?
on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:19:03 pm

Hi everyone.

I'm relatively new to AE. I have mastered Movie Maker and made some slick looking productions of youth football and hockey teams capturing magical moments for the seasons and presenting them at team parties and sharing the link to them on online.

But now I have moved on to the complex world of AE. I've already used it for overlaying still images and animating them. But now I want to add some cool effects.

I have taken several tutorials and tried to emulate what the instructor was doing in their videos so I have a decent grasp of beginner and intermediate effects but definitely need to follow tutorials to do them as they are not ingrained in me yet.

I was wondering if any of you had some ideas for effects that could be used for clips of youth flag football. Nothing staged so no clean plates. Just actual game action.

Of course, it can't be super advanced as I don't have the skill and I volunteer to do this so can't spend 24/7 working on a clip. And I will need to google actual tutorials. I should be alright as long as a find a tut on a similar concept. And I am willing to do rotoscoping, motion tracking, parenting, masking, etc frame by frame as the effects will only last a few seconds.

If any of the ideas I have so far seem impractical for me, please let me know.

- Runner's shoes turn red and leaves a trail of fire behind while running for a touchdown.

- QB throws the ball and while in the air it kind of has an explosive thrust and has a trail of smoke behind it like a rocket.

- Fireworks in the background right as someone scores a touchdown.