ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Changing camera angle of a video

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paritosh SrivastavaChanging camera angle of a video
by on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:53:08 pm

Is there any way to make it look like a video was shot at a slightly higher angle than it was actually shot ? I am new to the forum so be gentle with me, although I have been using after effects for the past 3 and 12 years or so.(probably didn't need to type in the last line.)

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Changing camera angle of a video
by on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:36:06 pm

Not really. The perspective change taking place between the two camera heights would reveal new portions of the entire shot, and obscure others. You would have to be able to change those things.

In cases like this, it's best to either live with the shot as is, or re-shoot.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Paritosh SrivastavaRe: Changing camera angle of a video
by on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:40:07 pm

Just realized, I meant 3 and 1/2 years, and what if I have the subject rotoed out, would that open up any possibilities ? skewing or anything ?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Changing camera angle of a video
by on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:47:32 pm

Keep in mind that the perspective on the subject would also change. Look at a person's face at his/her chin level. Now look at the same person at forehead level. Note what you can see in one, but can't in the other, and vice-versa.

You seek to do a 3D perspective change on a 2D image. If you're not very picky, I suppose it might work. If it has to look photorealistic, it will not.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

by on Feb 26, 2016 at 10:36:46 am