ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Invisible smoke transition

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Boris HerzogInvisible smoke transition
by on Jan 8, 2016 at 12:38:19 pm

Hello all,

First of all apologies for the question, I'm still a but of a beginner at AE. I'm trying to create a text reveal transition with a smoke effect (oh which there are plenty of tutorials) much like this one:

But to be contrary I'm trying to have the smoke 'Invisible' so that the shape of it moves across the text but without actually seeing the smoke but you still get the reveal from behind it of the text. Think black smoke on a black background revealing white text.
I'm not sure if this is one of those easy things I'm simply missing or I'm asking something very difficult...

Either way many thanks in advance

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Invisible smoke transition
by on Jan 8, 2016 at 4:25:18 pm

Very easy. Place the smoke in a precomp. Create a white solid(cntl+y). Add a the effect transition > linear reveal to the white solid(you could also animate a mask here), if the smoke is moving like in your link above, set the wipe angle to -90. Now, move foward in time until the smoke appears and adjust the transition completion to be be a little behind front edge of the smoke and set a keyframe. Move forward to when the smoke has moved completely across the screen and set the transition completion to follow the leading edge of the smoke. If the smoke doesn't move at a steady speed you may need to add keyframes to adjust the transition. Lastly, adjust the feather of your wipe effect.

Take this precomp and drop it in your main comp over the item you would like to reveal. Set the item's track matte(F4 if mattes are not visible) to luma matte, and you should now have a smoke shape wipe without the smoke.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor