ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Broadcast After Effects Animation (no clue) UK > US

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stephen OngBroadcast After Effects Animation (no clue) UK > US
by on Jan 5, 2016 at 5:46:54 pm

One of my clients has approached me to work on a broadcast piece for US transmission.
I am UK based and work in 2D illustration and animation which is largely been distributed via web.

I've spoken to the US client and made him aware of the fact that i have no experience creating broadcast content.

I was wondering if anyone could give a bit of advice here, am apprehensive of mis-leading my client but don't know enough about broadcast myself, so want to nip it in the bud early and check if it's possible for me to take this project.

From my limited knowledge of broadcast (googling) I believe I'd need to ensure my frame rate and resolution within my animations is correct for US broadcast, as I'm from a web background I tend to use 24 or 30, but am I right in thinking 29.97 is correct and 1920 x 1080 is still an ok res for the TV ad?

That's the first amateur question out of the way!

Next I'm assuming we would need to get right is the colour,
I'll be working with a brand colour palette but am aware some colours like 100% white, aren't suitable for broadcast. Is it my responsibility to get this right or are we able to get a US broadcast colourist to correct in post after delivering the lossless animation in the right res and frame rate?

And finally, Is there anything else I've overlooked? (probably!)

Am aware this might be an absolute minefield, but I'm not technical minded and don't want to turn it down due to technicalities, the client loves the style of my work so will happily pay to get it fixed up and ready to go.

Thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Broadcast After Effects Animation (no clue) UK > US
by on Jan 5, 2016 at 6:52:47 pm