ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Path resizing issue

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dean ButchartPath resizing issue
by on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:47:48 pm

I'm very new to AE so please forgive my ignorance.

I'm trying to get 5 small eclipses to rotate around a larger one. My approach to this was to create (using ALT) another even larger eclipse around the large one and copy it's path to the small circles. However, when I do so, the copied path is significantly smaller than the larger eclipse I created.

Can anyone explain why this is, or failing that, suggest another way of getting the end result I'm after.

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Kalle KannistoRe: Path resizing issue
by on Dec 30, 2015 at 9:13:19 am

Per what you are saying, it should work. Are the ellipses 2D or 3D layers? For 2D layers the path should be exactly the same size as you copied, for 3D layers the camera distance will affect the perceived size.

Return to posts index

Chris EvansRe: Path resizing issue
by on Dec 30, 2015 at 10:29:37 pm

The mask or path that defines the shape scales with the scale of the object. That seems pretty obvious, but if you copy the path from an object with 200% scale to an object with 100% scale, the new path will be half the size of the other one.