ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

iMac hardware questions in relation to After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sean OlesiukiMac hardware questions in relation to After Effects
by on Dec 23, 2015 at 10:54:59 pm
Last Edited By Sean Olesiuk on Dec 24, 2015 at 1:23:09 am

Hey everyone! I'm going to be receiving a new late 2015 iMac 27 inch soon and have a few questions about RAM and storage. I've done some research but there are various answers and I really value the opinions from members of this site.

Here are the for-sure specs:

4.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 4.2GHz
AMD Radeon R9 M395X with 4GB video memory

I am a video editor (I know, PCs are great and cheaper but I'm sticking with the iMac). I use Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, and a little bit of Maya as well as Element 3D. Most films I'll be making will involve 4k shots (from Phantom 3 UAV and GH4), most of the time involving creations in After Effects and sometimes involving 3D models in real life scenes, and most will be around 2-10 minutes long.

Now to the questions:

1. I am planning on adding 32GB or 64GB of RAM to the iMac. I'd prefer to add the 64GB if it will help even a little in speeds, but will it even be noticeable for the type of work I'll be doing? I figured with After Effects, Photoshop, and premiere open at same time, or if I'm rendering in AE it may help, but just wanted to get some opions from you experts :)

2. 512GB internal SSD or 1TB internal SSD? I'm trying to decide how I'm going to go about this and here are my two lines of thinking:
A. Go with 512GB SSD internal for OS, applications, and media cache/go with RAID (something like OWC Thunderbay4 Raid 5 8TB) for media and renders.