ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Rendering 4K footage on CS6

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Murat Ataman
Rendering 4K footage on CS6
on Dec 13, 2015 at 6:05:07 pm

Hi, newbie here..

My problem: We shot a short film on Blackmagic 4K. The footage is .mov format, yet 4K. I import it in After Effects CS6 and Premiere CS6 just fine, work around with it, apply my color corrections and effects. All is fine until I render.

When I render (on both AE and PR), I render in lossless AVI format (actually custom AVI on AE since when I click on render Audio it goes from lossless to custom AVI for some reason). The rendered output (whatever.Avi file) plays not so smooth, it freezes quite a bit, I can hear the audio but the picture freezes. I tried on Quicktime player, WMP and VLC, the result is the clip is unwatchable because the frames don't play well.

The clip is 25 fps mov, and I render it the same, 25 fps 16:9.

When I try to render on Quicktime format (instead of lossless or AVI), the result is the same.

And I'm having the similar problems on Premiere CS6. When I render with AVI format it's less choppy but the screen resolution is smaller. When I render with QT it's same with AE.

My system works fine with HDSLR clips, this is the first time I've had this problem. I'm trying to get a lossless output. What am I missing?

Now I'm sure for many of you this is a very simple thing, but I'm a newbie. I'd be very happy if someone told me what I'm doing wrong and what can I do to change this.

My system is Windows 7, i7 4770K, 16gb Ram, GTX 660

Return to posts index

Murat Ataman
Re: Rendering 4K footage on CS6
on Dec 13, 2015 at 6:50:18 pm